Skip to content

New Japan Reveals G1 Competitors

New Japan Pro Wrestling has announced the 20 competitors who will compete in this year’s hotly anticipated G1 Climax.

The most notable names are Kota Ibushi – who has not wrestled in New Japan sans mask since 2015 (he performs as Tiger Mask W in New Japan) and tournament newcomer Zack Sabre Jr. Both were part of last year’s WWE Cruiserweight Classic tournament.

The full list of names is:

  • Bad Luck Fale
  • EVIL
  • Hirooki Goto
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • Juice Robinson
  • Kazuchika Okada
  • Kenny Omega
  • Kota Ibushi
  • Michael Elgin
  • Minoru Suzuki
  • Satoshi Kojima
  • Tama Tonga
  • Tetsuya Naito
  • Togi Makabe
  • Tomohiro Ishii
  • Toru Yano
  • Yuji Nagata
  • Zack Sabre Jr.

The two blocks will be announced on June 26th and 27th. The tournament itself runs from July 17th through to August 13th. The winner of the tournament – unless it is IWGP Heavyweight Champion Kazuchika Okada – will wrestle Okada for the title at Wrestle Kingdom on January 4th.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: